Skip to main content

Google Adwords(Privilege Escalation): Read-only user able to add YouTube channels via Linked accounts

STEWIE NOT DOG, HUNT SOME BUGS MY BOY!!!!

Google AdWords , is Google's advertising system in which advertisers bid on certain keywords in their searchable ads. Since advertisers have to pay for these clicks, Google makes money from search.

ISSUE: A user with read only access to the adwords account was able to link Youtube channels to the adwords account.
Reported: 5th April 

Steps to reproduce:
1. Go to https://adwords.google.com create a test adwords account.
From settings, Account access add another userA with Read-only access
(Here's the access right is allocated as read only users)
Now
3. Go to user A mail account and accept the invitation to join the adwords account.
4. from user A adwords account go to settings then Linked accounts and then youtube, with below description: 
YouTube channels
Link a YouTube channel to your AdWords account to gain greater insights about your customers.

5. Add a youtube channel and accept the same via your youtube account.
the channel is added to the adwords account.

the check was missing while linking the youtube accounts,a request was send and post approval the accounts were linked. same worked for account unlinking, user with read only access can unlink admin's linked youtube account.

Bounty: 17th April
Thanks Google VRP for the fix and reward.




Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Missing Authorization check while deleting App Review for Marketing API: Facebook Whitehat

Missing Authorization check while deleting App Review for Marketing APIPeter, was enjoying the weekend, and he heard Lois screaming.
Hey, Peter, when are we getting new Television:
Well, huh!!! Alright…
Let's find something Honey :p 
Facebook has an option for App Review for Marketing API:
This privilege is only given to app admin:
App Review can only be submitted by app admins. Please contact an admin on the app to submit this app for review.
Impact:
A developer can change the app submission settings which can only be done by an admin and can also play with current submission settings.
here's the official documentation:
Facebook developer's documentation
The authorization check for the developer is missing on backend for the add/delete requests.
Peter being a developer was able to delete the added submissions(despite of having them disabled on front end)
Steps to replicate:1. create a test app,
2. add admin A and developer B
3. from developer B’s account go to
https://developers.facebook…

Hijacking Friend Requests Facebook: White Hat ./FamilyGuy

Facebook BugBounty: Intercept incoming friend requests of Victim add/accept to your facebook account:Product/URL:Facebook android app on facebookDescription and Impact The issue:
Missing authorisation check while accessing friend request API on android app, an attacker can add friend requests of any facebook user into his own account. in simple words Peter says:
Wait, what, no, no, Peter is a nice fellow. Peter: Ok, but still  Its like I can intercept and accept friend requests from someone which was send to some other user via Facebook send friend request to contacts option.
Let's report!! Sceanrio: X sends friends request by contacts option to Y. And I can get the request which was send to Y and become friend with X.
Reproduction Instructions/Proof of Concept: 1. install latest android app.  2. Create new account.  3. Enter a random mobile number[victim's]. 4. Enter a good name. 5. Enter gender. 6. You can skip uploading photo as well as uploading contacts. 7. As soon as you land on fb home p…

Facebook WhiteHat: Able to access group plan details even after leaving the group.

Facebook WhiteHat: Able to access group plan even after leaving the group.Product/URL: https://www.facebook.com/messages/t/[group_messagesID]Description and Impact Facebook messages has an option to create group, where a user can add multiple friends to chat, plan share pictures together.
Whenever a user is not a part of the group, he is not allowed to see the updated information of the group.
However one can still access the group plan even when not in a group.
Peter, is it?
Reproduction Instructions/Proof of Concept We have two test accounts, (test A) and (test B)
1. Test A Creates a new Group, Test Group, add members.(test B, test C ) 2. Test A creates a plan in group, with date, venue and plan name. 3. There is some argument between Test A and Test B, and Test B leaves the group. 4. Test A and Test C decides to change the plan venue as Test B was already aware of the all plan details. 5. Test A changes the plan venue and date, however Test B can see the plan updated information.
Idea…